-A +A

Student journalism awards open for 2015

Tuesday, 13 January 2015

Philip Geddes 1981.jpg

Philip Geddes in 1981
Philip Geddes, while a student at St Edmund Hall, in 1981

Student journalists at St Edmund Hall and across the University are encouraged to apply now for the annual Philip Geddes, Clive Taylor and Ronnie Payne awards.

The Philip Geddes prize is open to undergraduate members of the University who, by the end of Trinity Term 2015, will have completed the second year of their degree course. The Clive Taylor prize is awarded for sports journalism and is open to all current graduates or undergraduates regardless of year of study. Applicants for the Ronnie Payne Prize for Foreign Reporting should be undergraduates of the University in their second, third or fourth year who have already participated in student journalism and hope to make their career in journalism.

The value of each prize is £1,000, and there is also an additional Geddes Prize of £500 for St Edmund Hall students only.

The awards are named after Philip Geddes, an alumnus of St Edmund Hall and a journalist of considerable promise. After graduating he joined the staff of the London Evening Standard, then moved to the staff of the Daily Express. In December 1983 he was in Harrods, the Knightsbridge store, when orders were issued for the building to be evacuated. Realising there was a story to be had, he went to investigate. He was killed by the blast from a bomb planted by the IRA. Philip was just 24.

Since 1984 the Philip Geddes Memorial Prize has encouraged promising student journalists. Former prize winners have been employed by the BBC, ITN, Reuters, The Economist, and a wide range of Fleet Street newspapers.

The Clive Taylor Prize for Sports Writing is in memory of the distinguished cricket writer Clive Taylor. Clive toured with every major MCC team in the 19 years before he died, aged 50, in 1977 and was the cricket correspondent of The Sun.

This year we are pleased to announce the establishment of the Ronnie Payne Prize for Foreign Reporting. Established by his widow, Celia Haddon, this Prize will honour the work of the acclaimed foreign correspondent and war reporter, Ronnie Payne, who became, over the course of a long and distinguished career, a much-respected expert on espionage and terrorism. He died, aged 87, in 2013.

Candidates for the prizes are asked to submit the following:

  1. a minimum of three and a maximum of six pieces of journalistic work completed whilst at the University, in electronic format (PDF or Word), and
  2. an outline (maximum 500 words) of a specific journalistic project upon which you propose to spend the award, again in electronic format.

The awards are made on the condition that the money must be used for a media project or for expenses needed to support an internship in the media. Applicants for the Ronnie Payne Prize are required to put forward a proposal for a journalistic project which will take them abroad, that project being funded or part-funded by the prize money. Successful candidates later submit a report or project which demonstrates the use to which the prize money was put.

Applications should be emailed to geddesprize@seh.ox.ac.uk by midday on Monday of 5th week, 16 February. The subject line of your mail should be clearly marked with the name of the prize for which you are applying.