-A +A

Dr Charlotte Stagg receives Sieratzki UK-Israel Early Career Researcher’s Prize

Charlie Stagg at the award ceremony, with other winners

Earlier this week, Dr Charlotte Stagg was awarded the UK Early Career Researcher’s Prize, one of four prestigious Sieratzki UK-Israel Prizes for Advances in Neuroscience – an initiative by the Sieratzki family, supported by the British Neuroscience Associations (BNA) and the Israel Society for Neuroscience (ISFN).

33rd Annual New York Dinner a great success with a record number of attendees

Attendees at the NY Dinner

On 17 November, over 80 Aularians from North America and further afield gathered for the 33rd annual New York Dinner. The event provided an opportunity to mark the Principalship of Professor Keith Gull and, as such, attracted a record number of attendees.

As well as seeing many familiar faces, it was a pleasure to welcome many newcomers, including a good number of younger Aularians. Bill Miller (1949, PPE), the founder of the New York Dinner was in attendance, along with Justus O’Brien (1979, PPE) who kindly hosted the dinner at the Racquet & Tennis Club.

Teddy Hall players to take part in Varsity Rugby

Oxford captain Sophie Behan and Cambridge captain Lara Gibson with The Rhino Trophy – Wired Photos

The annual Oxford v. Cambridge Varsity Rugby matches take place this Thursday, 7 December, at Twickenham, and once again there will be Teddy Hall representation in both the men’s and women’s sides.

Instrumental Award holders announced for 2017-18

St Edmund Hall's Instrumental Award holders, in the College Chapel

Following recent auditions with the Director of Music, Chris Bucknall, and Professor Henrike Lähnemann, six undergraduates were selected to receive instrumental awards this year.

Congratulations to the following students:

How do you run a marathon with two kids?

Jessica Bruce running while pushing her two children in a double buggy

Jessica Bruce (née Leitch, 2002, Engineering Science) recently broke her second official world record for marathon running. Her first record had been for running a marathon whilst pushing her young son Daniel in a buggy, in a time of 3 hours 17 minutes. This time, she was attempting to run a marathon with Daniel and his baby sister, Emilia, in a double buggy – a feat she achieved in an impressive 3 hours and 22 minutes!

Oxford College Castaway: a student take on Desert Island Discs

Alice and James in the Oxide studio

Postgraduate student Alice Watson (2017, MSc in Migration Studies) has recently started her own show on the University’s student radio station, Oxide Radio. ‘Oxford College Castaway’ is a reinvention of BBC Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs, with Alice interviewing undergraduate or postgraduate students about their lives, experiences, and journeys to Oxford.

New boat named in memory of Matt Greenwood

The boat-naming ceremony at the St Edmund Hall boathouse

We were very pleased to welcome back Michaela and Peter Greenwood, parents of Matt Greenwood (2013, Engineering Science), at the weekend for a ceremony to name a boat in Matt’s honour.

Matt sadly lost his battle with cancer in December last year. He was an outstanding student and keen sportsman, and his many friends in the St Edmund Hall Boat Club (SEHBC) were keen to name the next new boat in his memory.

Ukrainian scholar hosted by College as part of Bohdan Solchanyk Travel Grant

The Principal, Keith Gull, and Sub-Dean Ilona Mostipan with Daryna on her visit to Oxford, at St Edmund Hall

Last week, St Edmund Hall had the pleasure of hosting Dr Daryna Dvornichenko in College accommodation as part of her Bohdan Solchanyk Travel Grant.

Voltaire’s birthday fundraiser in New York

Left to right: Dr Paul LeClerc (Voltaire scholar and former President of the New York Public Library), Professor Nicholas Cronk, Professor Caroline Weber (Professor of French Literature at Columbia University), Miles Young (Warden of New College)

Professor Nicholas Cronk was in New York last week, to celebrate the (probable) birthday of the eighteenth-century philosopher Voltaire, on 21 November, and seek support for an ongoing project to publish a full critical edition of his complete writings. Nicholas is the Director of Oxford University’s Voltaire Foundation and General Editor of the Complete Works of Voltaire, as well as a Fellow of St Edmund Hall.


Subscribe to St Edmund Hall RSS