-A +A

Philip Mountford

MA, DPhil (BSc CNAA), CChem, FRSC


Philip Mountford is Head of Inorganic Chemistry and Professor of Organometallic Chemistry and Catalysis at Oxford. He is also the Chairman of the Editorial Board of the RSC journal Dalton Transactions. He received the Royal Society of Chemistry's Organometallic Chemistry (Frankland) Award for 2012-2013 and is a former recipient of the RSC's Sir Edward Frankland Fellowship (1998-1999) for organometallic chemistry. He has held Visiting Professorships at the Universite Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, the University of Bordeaux and the University of Heidelberg. He is a member of the Dalton Division (Inorganic Chemistry) Council of the RSC and was recently a consultant to DSM Elastomers BV and external examiner for the undergraduate chemistry course at the University of East Anglia, UK.

His group's research interests centre around the synthesis, structure, bonding and stoichiometric and catalytic reactivity of organometallic compounds of the early transition and lanthanide metals, and, more recently, the alkaline earth metals. This research has a particular emphasis on compounds with metal-nitrogen multiple bonds (imido, hydrazido and related), homogeneous olefin polymerisation and ring-opening polymerisation. He is an author of ca 250 articles and patents (H index 44, >6700 citations), and has presented his group's research at ca 120 international and national conferences, meetings and university seminars.

A Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), Philip Mountford gained a D.Phil degree at the University of Oxford (1990) under the supervision of Professor M.L.H. Green FRS. He remained in Oxford as a Junior Research Fellow, and in 1992 accepted a lectureship at the University of Nottingham. In 1998 he returned to Oxford where he is also a Fellow of St Edmund Hall. He lives in Oxford and is married with two teenage daughters. His interests and hobbies include the theatre, politics, music, football and travel. He regularly sings with a local church choir, and until recently he served as a school governor and then chair of governors. 

Faculty personal page