Professor Peter Bruce FRS awarded Hughes Medal by Royal Society

18 Jul 2017

Peter Bruce
Professor Peter Bruce FRS

The Royal Society has today announced the winners of seventeen medals and awards. The annual prizes recognise exceptional researchers who make outstanding contributions to science, and will be presented at the Society’s Anniversary Day meeting on 30 November. Professor Peter Bruce FRS (Wolfson Chair in Materials and Fellow of St Edmund Hall) is to receive the 2017 Hughes Medal, for his distinguished work elucidating the fundamental chemistry underpinning energy storage.

Peter Bruce works in the fields of solid state chemistry and electrochemistry, with a particular emphasis on energy storage. His research involves the investigation of ionically conducting solids and intercalation compounds. By understanding the properties of such materials, he is able to examine their application in devices such as fuel cells and rechargeable lithium batteries.

His pioneering work has provided many advances. For example, Peter discovered that crystalline polymer electrolytes actually are better conductors than amorphous ones. He used solid state chemical principles to develop a rechargeable lithium-ion battery that has since revolutionised the electronics industry. He also developed lithium-air batteries that have found uses in electric and hybrid electric vehicles.

Peter’s outstanding research has been recognised with a number of prestigious awards and fellowships. He received the Tilden Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2008, the Carl Wagner Award of the Electrochemical Society in 2011 and the 2012 AkzoNobel UK Science Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

All News