Aularian receives prestigious Coolidge Fellowship Award

7 Jun 2018

Dr Bernard Bewlay

The Coolidge Fellowship Award is the highest honour awarded to a scientist within General Electric. The award recognises a unique individual whose technical leadership, research contributions and mentorship of others over their career has driven advanced technologies and market disruption that have created new business value for General Electric.

The award is named after Dr William D. Coolidge, a highly respected and accomplished inventor, technical leader and mentor whose work for GE has quite literally touched everyone who has ever turned on an electric light. In the 125 year history of General Electric there have been 70 recipients of this award.

St Edmund Hall alumnus Dr Bernard P. Bewlay (1980, Metallurgy) has been announced as the 2018 recipient of the Coolidge Award. General Electric recognised Bernard for his contributions to aircraft engine technology and the impact of his work on turbine engine performance and durability. Bernard is a world-recognised technical expert in these areas. He has been awarded more than 110 patents and has published more than 120 articles in technical journals.

The Hall wishes to congratulate Bernard on this achievement.

All News