Aularians recognised in 2024 New Year Honours List

9 Feb 2024

The Hall is delighted to reveal that three alumni have been recognised in the 2024 New Year Honours List: Lukas May (2008, PPE), Ian Hewitt (1966, Jurisprudence) and Rear Admiral Andrew Betton (1987, Earth Sciences).

Lukas received an OBE for services to International Trade. He worked as a senior trade negotiator in the run-up to and after Brexit, leading the UK’s FTA negotiations with Japan, and then the UK’s accession to CPTPP, a regional trading bloc.

Ian received an MBE for services to Tennis and Charity. Ian shared with the Hall: “I am very pleased and privileged to receive this honour, recognising the great work of the team at the All England Club and their contribution to society including through the Wimbledon Foundation. I remember my years at Teddy Hall with great affection and am forever grateful for the experiences, confidence and friendships that I gained during that special time which formed an important platform for my life.”

Lastly Andrew received a CB (Companion of the Order of the Bath) listed in the 2024 New Year’s Military Honours list.

Congratulations to all three Aularians; you make Teddy Hall very proud.

Lukas May Aularian
Lukas May (2008, PPE)
Ian Hewitt (1966, Jurisprudence)
Portrait of Ian Hewitt, AELTC Vice Chairman. The Championships 2019. Held at The All England Lawn Tennis Club, Wimbledon. Day 13 Sunday 14/07/2019. AELTC/Thomas Lovelock

All News